Mountain to Sea NC LSAMP

The LSAMP Scholars program, overseen by Provost Coger, provides resources to help Scholars become future leaders in science, engineering, or math. Scholars receive stipends and are given access to special opportunities, including near-peer mentoring, relationship building with faculty, workshop-style sections for some introductory courses, and funding for research and/or internships.

Scholars earn up to $3000 per academic year and $4000 in the summer!

What is LSAMP?

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program is a National Science Foundation priority designed to increase the number of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) degrees being awarded to African American, Hispanic/Latino American, American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, and Native Pacific Islander students. Broadening participation in the STEM workforce to those groups which have historically been underrepresented in these fields is necessary to meet the challenges of tomorrow. ECU is part of an LSAMP alliance called Mountain to Sea NC LSAMP, which also includes Appalachian State University, UNC Greensboro, UNC Wilmington, and Western Carolina University.

Benefits of being an LSAMP Scholar

  • Financial award for the duration of the fellowship ($3000 annually, renewable)
  • LSAMP Scholar community activities with near-peer mentors and opportunities to build professional relationships with faculty
  • Small, workshop-style sections for some introductory courses that are required by many STEM majors
  • Monthly professional development opportunities
  • $4000 stipend if you participate in approved summer research or an internship
  • Money to pay for research materials
  • Travel funds to present selected research at regional or national conferences

ECU Eligibility

  • Scholars must identify as:
    • African American/Black
    • Hispanic
    • American Indian or Alaskan Native
    • Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
    • 2 or more races
  • Scholars must be majoring (or intend to major in) one of these programs at ECU:
    • Applied Atmospheric Sciences
    • Biochemistry
    • Biology (BA or BS)
    • Chemistry (BA or BS)
    • Computer Science (BA or BS)
    • Engineering
    • Geographic Information Science and Technology
    • Geological Sciences
    • Mathematics
    • Physics
  • Scholars must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents
  • Scholars must have a minimum of 2.5 GPA (in high school, a community college, or ECU)
  • Scholars must be enrolled at ECU full-time in the semesters in which they are funded.

Application Information


Robin Coger
Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Heather Vance-Chalcraft
LSAMP ECU Project Manager and Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

Jean-Luc Scemama
Associate Dean, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences

Jason Yao
Associate Dean, College of Engineering and Technology

Participating Campuses

Appalachian State University
UNC Greensboro
Western Carolina University

Support from NSF

NSF Logo